Skip to Content
Streetsblog New York City home
Streetsblog New York City home
Log In
Tappan Zee Bridge

Thruway Authority, Not Cuomo, Announces Tappan Zee Transit Task Force

On Friday afternoon, the New York State Thruway Authority announced the 28 members of the Tappan Zee Bridge Mass Transit Task Force. Unlike the announcement of the committee that picked the winning bid to build to bridge, the task force announcement was made by the Thruway Authority, not Governor Cuomo himself, who has otherwise put himself front-and-center as the project's public face. The announcement came nearly four months after the executives of Rockland, Westchester, and Putnam counties agreed to the task force in exchange for signing off on the Tappan Zee Bridge plan.

Proposal 1, the recommended option for the new Tappan Zee Bridge. Transit not included. Image: Thruway Authority

The panel has no binding authority, but if better transit along the I-287 corridor can be salvaged from the Tappan Zee project, the path forward starts with the transit task force. It includes local and county electeds, transportation professionals, and representatives of the business community -- but strangely fails to include anyone from the MTA, which was one of the original conveners of the Traffic and Transit working group in the Tappan Zee planning process that Cuomo abandoned last year.

Sources had indicated to Streetsblog that members of the task force would be named after the bridge's design selection committee had made a recommendation to the governor, because some individuals would serve in both groups. The task force and the design committee have nine members in common: DOT Commissioner Joan McDonald, Deputy Secretary for Transportation Karen Rae, Mark Roche of consulting firm Arup, Thruway board member Brandon Sall, Robert Yaro of the Regional Plan Association, village mayors Tish Dubow and Drew Fixell, and county executives Rob Astorino and C. Scott Vanderhoef.

Before the deal was reached to let the transit-less bridge move forward, a number of counties and towns had called on Cuomo to restore transit to the TZB project. One of the good signs in Friday's announcement is that they are represented on the task force. The task force members who had signed on to TZB transit efforts led by the Tri-State Transportation Campaign (represented on the task force by executive director Veronica Vanterpool) include the county executives, Tarrytown's Fixell, Assembly Member Amy Paulin, and State Senators David Carlucci and Andrea Stewart-Cousins.

On the other side, task force member Marsha Gordon of the Business Council of Westchester County was a major cheerleader for Cuomo's transit-less bridge proposal, and Assembly Member Ellen Jaffee was an early endorser.

Unlike the design selection committee, which was announced in September and wrapped up its work in under three months, the transit task force was formed nearly four months after the initial announcement and is expected to take a year to make its recommendations, addressing both short- and long-term steps to bring transit to the I-287 corridor.

There have been no announcements to either the public or to task force members about when the task force will hold its first meeting, or if it will convene on a regular schedule.

Here's the complete list of "Mass Transit Task Force" appointees:

Rob Astorino, Westchester County ExecutiveScott Baird, Nyack Chamber of CommerceDavid Carlucci, Member, New York State SenatePeter Casper, New York State Thruway AuthorityHarriet Cornell, Chairwoman, Rockland County LegislatureJan Degenshein, architect and planner, former Chairman, Rockland Business AssociationJonathan Drapkin, Hudson Valley Pattern for ProgressTish Dubow, Mayor, Village of South NyackKristine Edwards, New York State Department of TransportationDrew Fixell, Mayor, Village of TarrytownMarsha Gordon, Business Council of Westchester CountyEllen Jaffee, Member, New York State AssemblyThomas Madison, Executive Director, New York State Thruway AuthorityJoan McDonald, Commissioner, New York State Department of TransportationJohn Nonna, Board Member, Westchester League of Conservation VotersLarry Salley, former Westchester County Transportation CommissionerVeronica Vanterpool, Tri-State Transportation CampaignAmy Paulin, Member, New York State AssemblyKaren Rae, Deputy Secretary to the Governor for TransportationTom Roach, Mayor, City of White PlainsMark Roche, Arup EngineeringChristopher St. Lawrence, Supervisor Town of RamapoBrandon Sall, Board Member, New York State Thruway AuthorityMary Jane Shimsky, Member, Westchester Board of LegislatorsAndrea Stewart-Cousins, Member, New York State SenateC. Scott Vanderhoef, Rockland County ExecutiveJen White, Mayor, Village of NyackRobert Yaro, President, Regional Plan Association

Stay in touch

Sign up for our free newsletter

More from Streetsblog New York City

Justice Dept., Citing Streetsblog Reporting, Threatens to Sue NYPD Over Cops’ Sidewalk Parking

The city is now facing a major civil rights suit from the Biden Administration if it doesn't eliminate illegal parking by cops and other city workers.

April 19, 2024

What to Say When Someone Claims ‘No One Bikes or Walks in Bad Weather’

Yes, sustainable modes are more vulnerable to bad weather. But that's why we should invest more in them — not less.

April 19, 2024

NYC Transit’s New Operations Planning Chief Wants To Fight ‘Ghost Buses’

One-time transit advocate and current MTA Paratransit VP Chris Pangilinan will oversee bus and subway operations for the whole city.

April 19, 2024

Friday’s Headlines: Gimme Bus Shelter Edition

The days of the Landmarks Preservation Commission reviewing every proposed bus shelter in landmarked districts may be no more. Plus more news.

April 19, 2024

Deal Reached: Hochul Says ‘Sammy’s Law’ Will Pass

The bill, though imperfect, has been four years in the making.

April 18, 2024
See all posts