C40 Large Cities Climate Summit: Welcome Reception

From May 14 – May 17, 2007, leaders of municipal governments and international businesses from over thirty world cities will convene in New York City for the second C40 Large Cities Climate Summit. Cities are responsible for three-quarters of the world’s energy consumption, and as such, the world’s largest cities have a critical role to play in the reduction of carbon emissions and the reversal of dangerous climate change.

On the evening of May 14, senior representatives of New York City business and government will welcome delegates to the summit in one of the world’s greenest buildings.

Who’s Coming?

  • Mayor Birhane Deressa, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Mayor Will Winn, Austin, United States
  • Governor Apirak Kosayodhin, Bangkok, Thailand
  • Mayor Klaus Wowereit, Berlin, Germany
  • Mayor Luis Eduardo Garzon, Bogotá, Colombia
  • Mayor Richard M. Daley, Chicago, United States 
  • Lord Mayor Ritt Bjerregaard, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Mayor Beto Richa, Curitiba, Brazil
  • Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit, Delhi, India
  • Mayor Bill White, Houston, United States
  • Mayor Kadir Topbas, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Mayor Amos Masondo, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Mayor Syed Mustafa Kamal, Karachi, Pakitstan
  • Governor Bola Tinubu, Lagos, Nigeria
  • Mayor Oscar Castaneda Lossio, Lima, Peru
  • Mayor Ken Livingstone, London, United Kingdom
  • Mayor Antonio Villaragoisa, Los Angeles, United States
  • Lord Mayor John So, Melbourne, Australia
  • Mayor Marcelo Ebrard Casaubon, Mexico City, Mexico
  • Mayor Shubha Umesh Raul, Mumbai, India
  • Mayor Ray C. Nagin, New Orleans, United States
  • Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, New York, United States
  • Mayor Bertrand Delanoë, Paris, France
  • Mayor John Street, Philadelphia, United States
  • Mayor Cesar Maia, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • Mayor Ivo Opstelten, Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • Mayor Rocky Anderson, Salt Lake City, United States
  • Mayor Gavin Newsom, San Francisco, United States
  • Mayor Gilberto Kassab, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Mayor Greg Nickels, Seattle, United States
  • Mayor Oh Se-hoon, Seoul, South Korea
  • Lord Mayor Clover Moore, Sydney, Australia
  • Governor Shintaro Ishihara, Tokyo, Japan
  • Mayor David Miller, Toronto, Canada

Other City Delegations

  • Barcelona, Spain
  • Beijing, China
  • Cairo, Egypt 
  • Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Jakarta, Indonesia 
  • Madrid, Spain
  • Portland, United States
  • Rome, Italy
  • Moscow, Russia 
  • Shanghai, China
  • Stockholm, Sweden
  • Warsaw, Poland


Days Numbered for City Parking Privileges?

Michael Bloomberg (front row, fourth from right) with other mayors at the C40 Summit  City employees should not have the right to free parking any more than New Yorkers who labor in the private sector, Mayor Bloomberg said Tuesday, hinting that the perk which entices 35 percent of government workers to drive to Manhattan could […]

The Car Habit Is Tough to Break

"People are addicted to their cars," said John Street, the Mayor of Philadelphia, at a panel on transport yesterday during the C40 Large Cities Climate Summit. He was identifying what he saw as the major challenge for cities striving to make their transport systems more environmentally sustainable. That remark prompted a comment later from Jim […]

Statement from Mayor Bloomberg on Congestion Pricing Failure

Press conference at 11:30 am today. Here is the Mayor’s statement on the New York State legislature’s failure to act on New York City’s congestion pricing plan:  FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 17, 2007 STATEMENT FROM MAYOR MICHAEL R. BLOOMBERG ON CONGESTION PRICING AND PLANYC "Although we continue to talk to the Legislature and the Governor, […]

Gas Costs More? Fill ’Er Up!

Rising gas prices may be causing a reduction in driving. That makes sense. What doesn’t is the news that in spite of increasing pain at the pump, SUV sales are on the upswing. This, from the San Francisco Chronicle: The numbers for large SUVs rose nearly 6 percent in the first quarter of 2007, and […]

Pricing Panel Appointees Announced

From NYC.gov. Bios of the members after the jump. Mayor Michael Bloomberg today joined Governor Eliot Spitzer, Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Senate Majority Leader Joseph Bruno, Senate Minority Leader Malcolm Smith, Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco, and City Council Speaker Christine Quinn to announce appointments to the New York City Traffic Mitigation Congestion Commission established […]